Search our site :

Below is a list of the research associates that make up a large part of CITANDA


All permanent staff members of the Department of IS are automatically research associates of CITANDA, since it is the vehicle through which research in the department is conducted.

Professor Jean-Paul Van Belle (Section Head, IS Research)  is the Director. The research interests of permanent staff members are currently as follows:

  • Professor Irwin Brown  - IS in developing countries; IS management; Grounded Theory in IS research.
  • Professor Wallace Chigona - ICT for national development; community informatics; and mobile technology for development.
  • Emeritus Professor Mike Hart - Strategic use of IS; key management issues in IS; business intelligence; data mining and analytics.
  • Associate Professor Kevin Johnston - ICT strategy and alignment; use of ICT in business; ICT management issues; open source software.
  • Professor Mike Kyobe - Strategic IT planning; IT alignment; computer security and utilisation of IT to leverage knowledge management; enterprise and IT governance.
  • Mr. Michael Pollock - Technology Adoption, Systems Development, IS Education
  • Dr. Elsje Scott - Object-orientated programming and methodologies; efficient teaching methods for programming concepts; IS project management, with the specific focus on student group projects using C# as programming language.
  • Dr Salah Kabanda - IT adoption; M and E commerce; ICT4D.
  • Professor Ojelanki Ngwenyama - Developing and using critical social science methods for IS research. Empirical research focused on: software process innovation; IS implementation; IS management; the impact of ICT on social and economic development.
  • Dr Jacques Ophoff - Information and cyber security; privacy; design science research.
  • Mr Mike Pollock - Effective IS teams, IS programming with students; technology acceptance; the digital divide in South Africa; digital forensics; virtual teams; m-innovation.
  • Associate Professor Ulrike Rivett – ICT4D; service delivery through mobile technologies; e-government and m-government; water quality management and monitoring; innovative use of ICTs.
  • Dr Sumarie Roodt - IS and Education: Technology-enhanced learning with a focus on using emerging technologies for the Net Generation, Digital Game-Based Learning (DGBL), Virtual Worlds, Educational Neuroscience & Technology- Enhanced Learning. IS and Business: Using emerging technologies for Competitive Advantage.
  • Dr Lisa Seymour - Enterprise systems and business process management with a developing country focus.
  • Emeritus Professor Derek Smith - Project portfolio management; project teams; project manager competencies.
  • Mr Adrie Stander - Data communications; database design; human-computer interaction; culture and information systems.
  • Dr Maureen Tanner - Agile, global Software development.
  • Professor Jean-Paul Van Belle - Adoption of information technologies; ICT4D; e-commerce and m-commerce; e-government and m-government; open source software; enterprise IS architectures; e-readiness of SMEs and NGOs; Green IS/IT.

Doctoral Students

Graduated and current PhD students in the Department of IS are also automatically research associates of CITANDA.